Month in Milan

2016-09-13_17-25-14

The view from the balcony.

 

Today is my first day of a month living in Milan. Having grown up in a town, albeit a fairly large town, in the centre of England, I wouldn’t say I’m really a city girl, and actually in this city I feel like a total “country mouse”.

Last time I was here, in August, I visited the tourist centre of Milan, where the imposing Duomo di Milano and luxurious Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II are situated. It was all very impressive, beautiful and interesting, but honestly I was a little overwhelmed. There were so many people taking photos, queuing to get inside the duomo, and with the temperature in the 30’s (Celsius), I was grateful to get into the shade of a side street café after an hour wandering around.

Luckily for me, the place where I’m staying is not in the centre of the city, in fact it’s about 30 minutes away on the metro, and you can see from my view that it is nowhere near as crowded and actually quite green and peaceful 🙂

I am looking forward to spending my month here, getting to know the city a little better as more of an inhabitant than a tourist, and hopefully improving my Italian skills along the way! Ciao Ragazzi!

Leave a Reply

